Main menu


The start of the second round of parliamentary consultations to assign a prime minister to the Lebanese government

The second round of binding parliamentary consultations began between Lebanese President Michel Aoun and the parliamentary blocs and independents in the House of Representatives in order to name a new president to assign him to form the Lebanese government, after the apology of two designated presidents and the continuation of the government vacuum for nearly a year since the resignation of the government of Prime Minister Hassan Diab on the tenth of last August.

The strong Republic bloc (the Lebanese Forces party's parliamentary bloc and includes 14 deputies) renewed its position on refusing to nominate a candidate for prime minister, calling for the parliamentary elections to be brought forward, while independent MP Adi Demarjian announced the nomination of former Prime Minister Najib Mikati, whose cost opportunities increased after he had so far obtained 53 votes without A competitor, while the number of deputies who did not name anyone reached 16 deputies.

The first round, which was held this morning, resulted in former Lebanese Prime Minister Najib Mikati obtaining 52 votes to assign him to form the new Lebanese government, as 6 parliamentary blocs announced the nomination of Mikati to form the new government, which are the blocs of the Future Movement (18 deputies) and Loyalty to the Resistance (12 deputies). The National Bloc (5 deputies), the Democratic Gathering (7 deputies), the Independent Center (3 deputies), and the Social Nationalist Bloc (3 deputies), while the Consultative Gathering bloc (4 deputies) announced that two deputies were named Mikati, while two deputies refrained from naming them.

In addition to the parliamentary blocs, former Prime Minister Tammam Salam and Deputy Speaker of the Lebanese Parliament Elie Ferzli announced the nomination of Najib Miqani to form the new government within the binding parliamentary consultations this morning, bringing the total votes obtained by Mikati to 52 votes out of 54 MPs who participated in the first round of binding parliamentary consultations .

The second round of binding parliamentary consultations began with the representatives of the strong republic, which had previously announced that it would not name anyone, then the 9 independent deputies, the Development and Liberation bloc headed by Parliament Speaker Nabih Berri (the parliamentary bloc of the Amal movement and includes 17 deputies) and the Strong Lebanon bloc headed by Gibran Bassil (the parliamentary bloc of the Free Patriotic Movement, the political group of the President of the Republic, which includes 17 deputies), the Armenian Parliamentary bloc (the Tashnaq party’s parliamentary bloc), which includes 3 deputies, and the Damanah al-Jabal bloc, which includes 4 deputies.

In order to officially announce his assignment to form the government, Mikati needs a majority of votes (50 percent + 1) of the total number of deputies present for the consultations among the deputies invited to participate in the binding parliamentary consultations, 118 out of 128 deputies who are the strength of the Lebanese Parliament, due to the absence of 10 deputies due to death and resignation. From the Council in the wake of the Beirut seaport explosion.

According to Article 53 of the Lebanese Constitution, the President of the Republic conducts consultations with the parliamentary blocs and independent deputies, so that each of them nominates a candidate to head the new government - provided that he belongs to the Sunni sect - provided that the President of the Republic assigns the candidate who receives the majority of the votes of the deputies after informing the Speaker of the Parliament The deputies are informed of the results of the consultations, then the President of the Republic issues a decree naming the Prime Minister individually.