Main menu


Al-Ahly is looking for its tenth star in the jungles of Africa. Learn about the story of 6 coaches with the brown princess

Al-Ahly is preparing to add a tenth star to its treasury of titles from the African Champions League when it faces the South African Kaizer Chiefs in the match scheduled for next Saturday in Morocco with its ambitious South African coach Pitso Musimani.

In the following report, “The Seventh Day” reviews the coaches who won the African Champions League titles for Al-Ahly.

1 - Musimani

The holder of the last title and the ninth star, which he achieved at the expense of Zamalek, after defeating him with two goals against a goal, after an absence of 7 seasons from the Red Castle.


2 - Mohamed Youssef

Mohamed Youssef, the former coach of Al-Ahly, won the African Champions League, as he led the Red Genie to crown the championship title in 2013 at the expense of Orlando Pirates, the South African champion.

3 - Manuel Jose

The Portuguese Manuel Jose, the former technical director of Al-Ahly Club, is the most crowned coach in the African Champions League title, as the Portuguese old man won the African Championship title 4 times during his training career with Al-Ahly, the first title was in (2001) at the expense of South African Sun Downs, and he won the second His African titles in (2005) in front of Tunisian Etoile Sahel, before he crowned his third African title with the Red Giant in (2006) at the expense of Tunisian Sfaxien, and his last African titles was in (2008) against Cameroonian Cotton.


Hossam El Badry

Hossam El Badry won the African Champions League title with Al-Ahly in 2012 at the expense of Tunisian Esperance.


Anwar Salameh

Anwar Salama led Al-Ahly team to the CAF Champions League title for the second time in its history in 1987, at the expense of Ivorian Africa Sport.

6 - Mahmoud El Gohary

Mahmoud El-Gohary achieved the first title of the African Champions League, as he led Al-Ahly to win its first title in the African Championship in 1982 at the expense of Asante Kotoko, the Ghanaian champion.